Team Ateneo Ends Season with 15th Athletes Night Awards

As the academic and athletic calendars come to a close for school year 2012-2013, Team Ateneo celebrated the end of another impressive year. Last March 15, athletes, coaches, and student-managers of the different varsity teams of the Ateneo de Manila University came together for the 15th Ateneo Athletes Night Awards held at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater.

This is the fourth year where Team Ateneo dressed up to the nines for the awards night. The 15th Athletes Night Awards recognized student-athletes who excelled in their sport. Hosted by Ariel Diccion and Gretchen Ho, the event saw several athletes go up the stage to receive their trophies. The night opened with a special performance from the Blue Babble Battalion Drumline and DJ Katsy Lee.

The first award given out was the Team Manager of the Year. The award is given to the student-manager who consistently supported and went out of his/her way to assist and encourage the team and this year Ellie Huang of the Women’s Badminton Champion Team received the award. Former Women’s Badminton member, Carla Lizardo, presented the Step Up Athlete of the Year to another member of a champion team, Bocc Bernardo of the Baseball team. The Step Up Athlete of the Year is given to the athlete who improved on his/her performance from the previous years, exceeded expectations set by the coaches, and played a vital role in their team’s performance during the year.

The next award given out was the bobble™ X Factor award, given to the athlete who displayed incredible and infectious school spirit and epitomized the meaning of a true blue Atenean animo. The award went to Kiefer Ravena, a vital cog of the Men’s Basketball 5peat team.

The only team award given out was the Havaianas Breakthrough Team of the Year. This award was given to the team who improved in their standings from the previous seasons. A member of last year’s winners, Matt Laurel of the Baseball team, handed out the award to the winners, the Men’s Football team. After finishing second to the last in the last UAAP season, the team overcame all odds to become UAAP Champions this year.

The winners of the Loyola Schools Awards for Service and Leadership were also recognized that night. This year’s Ambrosio Padilla awardee was Angelica Tiu of the Women’s Football team while the Guidon-Moro Lorenzo Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year were Miguel Salud of the Baseball team and Gelita Castilo of the Women’s Badminton team respectively.

Kirk Damasco of GetBlued presented the Best Dressed award to Ariel de Leon of the Women’s Judo team and Kevin Ramos of the Baseball team. A new award category was also given out that night. The Study Hall Student-Athlete of the Year award was given to Tommy Rivera of the Men’s Volleyball team. The Rookies of the Year and the Most Valuable Players of each of the varsity teams were also recognized through a video.

The final awards of the night were the Lady Eagle and Blue Eagle of the Year. The winners for these awards were chosen from the MVP nominees of the different teams. Gelita Castilo won the Nivea Lady Eagle award and for the first time there were two winners of the Nivea for Men Blue Eagle of the Year award – Miguel Salud and Nick O’Donnell of the Men’s Football Champion team. Castilo was this year’s tournament MVP. Salud was named Rookie of the Year, Best Pitcher, and co-MVP of the Baseball tournament while O’Donnell was awarded Best Goalkeeper and MVP of the Men’s Football tournament.

All awardees received a trophy and gift items from the different sponsors of the event – bobble™, Havaianas, Nivea, Nivea for Men, Jamba Juice, and Krispy Kreme.

The athletes received congratulatory remarks from the University President, Fr. Jose Ramon T. Villarin, S.J. before the awards program ended with the singing of the Song for Mary. But the night continued on with a special dinner for the attendees of the event. After the Athletes Night, Bonfire II: Making History commenced at the Grade School Parking area.

It was truly a great year for Ateneo sports with a number of teams clinching championships and improving their records in their respective tournaments. A number of athletes also won individual awards in the different tournaments they joined.

The event would not have been possible without the support of the College and University Athletics Offices and the different event sponsors. The 15th Ateneo Athletes Night Awards was co-presented by bobble™, Havaianas, Nivea, and Nivea for Men, and was also sponsored by GetBlued, Jamba Juice, Krispy Kreme, and Megaworld.

Comments are closed.